DLN Adds National Board Members

Dental Lifeline Network Adds National Board Members


Denver, Colo. – March 7, 2016  Dental Lifeline Network, a national dental nonprofit organization and charitable affiliate of the American Dental Association, has announced three newly-elected national board members.

Charles Cohen, managing director of Benco Dental Supply Company; Drew Eason, executive director and CEO of the Florida Dental Association, and Judith M. Fisch, DDS, a trustee of the ADA, are new DLN directors.

Cohen is third-generation owner of Benco Dental Supply Company, the nation’s largest independently owned dental distributor, and Clarion Financial, a sister company offering financing to dentists. Founded in 1930 by Benjamin Cohen, Benco serves over 25,000 dental offices and dental laboratories across the United States.  The company is based in Northeastern Pennsylvania with locations in 40 states. Cohen is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania. His term on the DLN board is through June, 2017.

Eason, currently is president of the American Society of Constituent Executive Directors, and a member of the ADA Executive Director’s Advisory Committee and the Florida Healthcare Workforce Professional Advisory Group. Eason received his master’s degree from Michigan State University. His term on the DLN national board extends through June, 2017.

Dr. Fisch, a general dentist and past president of the Vermont State Dental Society, has served on the ADA Council on Ethics, Bylaws and Judicial Affairs and is a trustee for the ADA’s first district. She is a retired lieutenant in the U.S. Naval Dental Corps and a graduate of the Georgetown University School of Dentistry. Dr. Fisch has practiced dentistry in Rutland, Vermont, since 1989. Her DLN board term coincides with her ADA trusteeship through October, 2019.

Newly-elected board officers are Chairman Frank A. Maggio, DDS, of Elgin, Illinois, who succeeds Thomas Fleszar, DDS, MS, of Okemos, Michigan, and Vice Chair John Nicholas Vinke, Canton, Massachusetts. Stephen A. Weinstein, Denver, Colorado, continues to serve as Treasurer and Assistant Secretary. Other directors are Scott Anderson, Patterson Companies, Inc.; Terri Battaglieri, Delta Dental of Michigan; Terry L. Buckenheimer, DMD; Gordon Christensen, DDS, MSD, PhD; Joseph P. Crowley, DDS, Martin C. Nager, DMD; Dave Steck, Henry Schein Dental; Bruce C. Vladeck, PhD; Bret Wise, Dentsply Sirona, and Larry Coffee, DDS, founder and CEO of DLN.

The DLN 17-member national board oversees the management of DLN which operates programs in treatment and education, serving people with disabilities or who are elderly or medically fragile and cannot afford dental care. Its flagship program, Donated Dental Services (DDS), has provided access to dental treatment totaling nearly $320 million to 109,000 vulnerable people nationwide since 1985 through the generosity of 15,000 volunteer dentists and 3,700 dental laboratories. For more information, visit www.DentalLifeline.org.