48 Dental Students Receive Brian D. Stone Award

2023 Brian D. Stone Award Recipient,              Dr. Shannon Allen

Dental Lifeline Network partners with 48 dental schools across the United States through the Brian D. Stone Memorial Award to recognize outstanding dental school graduates who have committed to volunteerism and public service to helping people with special needs. 

The award was established 19 years ago by Brian’s parents, Drs. Joy and Justin Stone of New Jersey. The collaborative partnership between these accredited schools allows DLN to recognize future dental professionals who believe in the importance of volunteering to help our most vulnerable populations. 

Dr. Shannon Allen is an example of one of those students. Dr. Allen graduated from the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry in May 2023. During her time in dental school, Dr. Allen participated in Advent Health Mission Clinic, a clinic that brings multiple types of healthcare to the local community. As a volunteer, Dr. Allen provided free cleanings and exams to patients who did not have a dental home. She also educated patients on the importance of oral health. In addition to volunteering at the clinic, she also volunteered at facilities that house people with special needs. Using mobile dentistry, she along with other volunteers, provided dental exams, cleanings, and other dental care to those patients in need. 

“As dentists, we have specialized skills that not everyone can contribute to their communities. There are so many people who do not have the resources to access dental care,” said Dr. Allen, 2023 Brian D. Stone Recipient. “It is an important duty as a professional to volunteer in the community and provide services that no other profession can give. When we decide to be dentists, we take on the responsibility of taking care of our communities.”

This year, 48 students received the prestigious award! DLN continues to work on expanding this program by adding recipients. If you are interested in participating in the program, please fill out our form

2023 Brian D. Stone Award Recipients

  • Alex Hsieh, University of Iowa College of Dentistry and Dental Clinics
  • Alexandria Hull, New York University College of Dentistry
  • Alexandria N. Catalano, Temple University Maurice H. Kornberg School of Dentistry 
  • Alissa Payseur, James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine, Medical University of South Carolina
  • Allen Mayon, The Ohio State University College of Dental Medicine
  • Allison D. Ghan, A.T. Still University, Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health
  • Aparecio Peggins, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry
  • Baylee Ann Glover Teafatiller, UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry
  • Brandi Hall, University of Louisville School of Dentistry
  • Brooke Talsania, University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine
  • Candace Campbell Keesey, University of Pittsburg School of Dental Medicine
  • Catherine Ann Rayburn, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine 
  • Cayleigh Herman, The Dental College of Georgia
  • Clayton Shea Sorrells, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Dentistry 
  • Colby Rowberry, Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
  • Daniella Davis, University of Washington School of Dentistry
  • David Harold Choo Chong, Rutgers School of Dental Medicine
  • Diego J. Rivas, UT Health Houston School of Dentistry 
  • Elizabeth Rodie, University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
  • Geraldine Manansala-Martinez, Creighton University School of Dentistry
  • Geremy Medlock, East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
  • Gus Moretta, Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
  • Jared Whiteside, Indiana University School of Dentistry
  • Jay Patel, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
  • Jessica Ventenilla, Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine – Illinois
  • Julianna Woodward, University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Dentistry
  • Katelyn Glaenzer, Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
  • Lauren Kvam, University of Utah School of Dentistry
  • Lena White, University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
  • Maia Wiesenfeld, University of Pittsburg School of Dental Medicine
  • Mallory J. Mathias, University of Alabama School of Dentistry
  • Marie Louisa Heske, UNLV School of Dental Medicine
  • Meera Damodaran, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry
  • Michelle Afonso, University of Florida College of Dentistry
  • Nicole Lauritsen, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry
  • Nicole A. Philips, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry
  • Philip Stahl, University of the Pacific, Arthur a. Dugoni School of Dentistry
  • Philip Shockley, University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
  • Rachel Louise Thornton, Marquette University School of Dentistry
  • Ryan Carrera, University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
  • Saleh Smadi, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
  • Shannon Allen, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
  • Stefan De Solo, Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
  • Tyler L. Gimenez, Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
  • Vasseur D. Kamseu, University of New England College of Dental Medicine
  • Victoria Alexzandria Rouse, Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
  • Vincent Nguyen, A.T. Still University – Missouri School of Dentistry & Oral Health
  • Wijdan Dabeek, West Virginia University School of Dentistry

Featured Posts


Dental Lifeline Network
1800 15th Street, Suite 100
Denver, CO 80202

Phone: 303.534.5360
Fax: 303.534.5290

Apart from the free survey software, we also have access to QuestionPro’s free survey templates . We’ve found many of them useful and powerful to collect insights from various stakeholders of our organization.

Skip to content